European Parliamentary election 2019

View the results of the 2019 European Parliamentary election, which was held on the 23 May.

Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole Council is part of the South West Region for this election. The South West will elect 6 Members of the European Parliament (MEP)

Who can vote

You must be registered to vote and also be one of the following:

  • 18 years of age or over on polling day
  • a British citizen, a qualifying Commonwealth citizen, or a citizen of the European Union
  • resident in the UK
  • a UK citizen living abroad who has been registered to vote in the UK in the last 15 years
  • not be subject to any legal incapacity to vote

If you’re an EU citizen living in the UK

If you’re a citizen of an EU country (other than the UK, Ireland, Malta and Cyprus) resident in the UK, you can either vote in the UK or in your home country. 

If you want to vote in:

  • your home country, you must contact the electoral authorities in that EU country
  • the UK, you must have registered by the 7 May, as well as completed and sent the European Parliament voter registration form to us

Voting options and your poll card 

If you know you won't be able to vote in person, then you can either:

If you've chosen to vote in person and providing your name is on the electoral register, you will receive a poll card which tells you where you should vote.

If you have already chosen to vote by post then you will receive a poll card which tells you when and where your voting papers will be sent.

Emergency proxy votes

In certain circumstances, where you have an emergency that means you cannot go to the polling station in person, you can apply for an emergency proxy up to 5pm on the day of the poll:

The application must reach the Electoral Registration Officer at one of the Electoral Offices listed below by 5 pm on Thursday, 23 May 2019.

  • Bournemouth Electoral Office, Town Hall, Bourne Avenue, Bournemouth, BH2 6DY
  • Christchurch Electoral Office, Civic Offices, Bridge Street, Christchurch, BH23 1AZ
  • Poole Electoral Office, Civic Centre, Municipal Road, Poole, BH15 2RU

Election day and results

Polling stations are open from 7am to 10pm on Thursday 23 May.

This election uses a proportional representation voting method. You have one vote to elect all of the MEPs for the South West Region.

Each party will put forward a list of candidates (known as a regional list). You vote for one of these lists or for an individual candidate standing as an independent.

The MEPs for each party that are elected to represent the South West depends on the overall share of votes that each party receives.

The votes will be counted and declared on Sunday 26 May.

As results are being declared, they will be available on:

Notices of election

The following notices of election have been issued for the 2019 European Parliament election:

Standing for election

The following guidance and nomination papers have been issues for the 2019 European Parliament election:

Page last updated: 18 May 2021
Help us improve
This is just for feedback on our website, not comments or questions about our services. Feedback on services will not be passed on. To tell us anything else, contact us.

Please don't include any personal or financial information.

Share this page