[Skip to content]

Your Borough Of Poole

Local Elections 2011

Local elections for Poole were held on 5 May 2011.

This is a special edition of Poole News covering the local elections 2011.

Elections offer people the chance to have their say on who runs Borough of Poole.

The Council has 42 seats which represent the borough's 16 wards and all 42 seats are up for election.

Local elections are held every four years.

Providing your name is in the Register of Electors, you will receive a poll card which sets out the information about where you should vote on election day or when you will receive your postal vote if you choose to vote by post.

During elections, Polling stations are open from 7am-10pm on election day and when they close the sealed ballot boxes are taken to the Lighthouse, Poole for counting. 

5 May 2011 was also the date set for the national referendum, when people were invited to vote Yes or No to proposals to change the voting system used to elect MPs to the House of Commons during general elections.

To be eligible to vote in Elections you need to be:-

  • 18 years old
  • British or Commonwealth citizens
  • Citizens of the Irish Republic; or
  • Citizens of other EU countries [but please note that EU citizens cannot vote in the AV Referendum]

Contact us


01202 633097

Text Relay
18001 01202 633097

Electoral Services
Civic Centre
BH15 2RU