[Skip to content]

Your Borough Of Poole
Services
.

School term and holiday dates

2016/17 Academic Year

Autumn Term (Terms 1 and 2)

  • Thursday 1 September to Friday 16 December 2016

  • Half Term break between terms 1 and 2: Monday 24 to Friday 28 October 2016

Spring Term (Terms 3 and 4)

  • Tuesday 3 January to Friday 7 April 2017

  • Half Term break between terms 3 and 4: Monday 13 to Friday 17 February 2017

Summer Term (5 and 6)

  • Monday 24 April to Friday 21 July 2017

  • Half Term break between terms 5 and 6: Monday 29 May to Friday 2 June 2017

2017/18 Academic Year

Autumn Term (Terms 1 and 2)

  • Monday 4 September to Friday 15 December 2017

  • Half Term break between terms 1 and 2: Monday 23 to Friday 27 October 2017

Spring Term (Terms 3 and 4)

  • Tuesday 2 January to Thursday 29 March 2018

  • Half Term break between terms 3 and 4: Monday 12 to Friday 16 February 2018

Summer Term (5 and 6)

  • Monday 16 April to Wednesday 25 July 2018

  • Half Term break between terms 5 and 6: Monday 28 May to Friday 1 June 2018

Who sets school term and holiday dates?

The Local Authority is required to set school term and holiday dates for Community and Voluntary Controlled schools.

The governing bodies of Foundation and Voluntary Aided schools, and the Academies, are responsible for setting their own dates.

Usually all schools within the Borough operate the same term and holiday dates.

It is recommended that you check with the school to get its precise start and finish dates. 

How school holiday dates are set

School term and holiday dates are usually set over 18 months in advance of the academic year. They are based on a school year of 195 days although individual schools can use 5 of these days for staff training.

Parents should contact the individual school to find out when their training days will be.

Back to top

Related pages

Contact us

Email
integrated.services@poole
.gov.uk

Telephone
01202 261912

Address
Children Young People & Learning
Dolphin Centre
Poole BH15 1SA